top of page

the year is 2025

Like many others, the past couple of weeks have been full of small moments of reflection. Whether it’s reminiscing on the past, stressing about current events, or dreaming of the future, I’ve often find myself thinking about anything and everything. Regardless of where we are now, we’re all feeling grateful for the memories we’ve made, the opportunities we have, and the excitement we have for what’s to come. I’m sure we’ll all hoping it comes sooner rather than later, of course.

The following essay was actually submitted in 2015. I was a senior in high school at the time and preparing various materials for college applications, from transcripts and standardized test scores to supplemental essays and personal statements. For this specific scholarship application, we were asked to imagine our future selves in the year 2025 and describe what our proudest accomplishment had been and how we achieved it.

Peeking over at the digital clock which read “11:34,” I chuckle as I listen to a co-worker’s amusing story about what he had learned during his work abroad in Peru. The whole table bellows in laughter as he continues his explanation about the difference between a llama and an alpaca. There are only 26 minutes left until the new year, and I find myself not only filled with excitement, but also with gratitude as I reminisce over all the events of the year 2025. Then, I am pulled out of my small daydream as my co-worker nudges me, waiting expectantly for me to share. I smile, glancing at the others surrounding the table, and begin my story.

My coworkers listen attentively as I tell them about the day I presented my idea to the head of the marketing department of our travel magazine company. It was a cloudy morning in New York City as I rushed into the elevator, weighed down with charts, data tables, and photographs. I moved the hair out of my face, gradually slowing down my pace as I approached the conference room. Opening the frosted glass door, I composed myself and walked in the room with confidence, offering a smile to the director and her assistants. We quickly exchanged greetings while I prepared the visual aids, beginning my presentation. Minutes later, the director motioned for me to stop. She walked toward me, with her assistants trailing behind and shook my hand, informing me that my marketing proposal was chosen. It was in that moment that I achieved my greatest accomplishment thus far, and I grinned from ear to ear as I gathered my poster boards, heading toward the elevator.

The days leading up to my presentation were times of inspiration and, to a certain extent, desperation. There were moments where I wanted to rid of my frustrations and forget about my presentation altogether. I recall the late nights when my eyes crinkled in concentration as I carefully reviewed my points and how I repeatedly practiced my short speech in front of the mirror, running my lines as if I was preparing for an opening night with a prestigious theater company. Through my experience, I learned that persistence, along with a little patience, can overcome any challenge. All those hours spent on my proposal for the marketing department paid off, and I can proudly say that I left the conference room confidently and composedly, feeling the weight of those visual aids being lifted off my shoulders.

My story comes to an end, and I glance over at the digital clock once more. This time, it reads “11:54,” and my co-workers are quiet as they reflect about the times when they overcame similar struggles. A moment passes, and I quickly stand with the others, counting down the seconds left in the year. “Five…four…three,” I shout, but before I reach to the last second, I think to myself, the year is 2015 and I feel accomplished.

When I came across this old essay, I could not help but think how wrong I was about the future. Bringing physical visual aids when platforms like Google Slides, Keynote, and PowerPoint exist? Working in the marketing department at a company in New York City? A director stopping a presentation halfway to share good news instead of criticism or constructive feedback? Wow, how my views have changed.

The 18 year old me was simply speculating what could happen by 2025, and I certainly had different goals at the time. I did end up studying marketing in college, but if my younger self knew what I was up to now, I think she'd be rather shocked. I'll admit that even my present self is still in denial of what I'm doing at the moment. However, it’s comforting to know that despite changing circumstances, things eventually turn out okay. The situation might not get better – at least the way we want it to – but we ultimately get better.

Thanks for reading!

Until next time,

n.t.


bottom of page