top of page

spring cleaning

With the bright sun shining after the occasional rain shower, it must mean spring is finally here. This season often marks a new beginning for many, as we use it as a push to tackle new hobbies, open that daunting 1000-page novel we've been wanting to read, or attempt to clean every aspect of our lives. For me, this meant wanting to clear my hard drive to make room for future photo albums, design projects, and random files. But then I came across folders filled with old writing pieces: assignments from an English course during undergrad, essay submissions for contests and scholarships, blog posts that never quite got published, and even a list of tweet ideas from before I had a Twitter account. Yes, I am that person.

So I'll take the next few days (read: weeks probably) to share some old content, and this will serve as an archive of sorts. Don't worry, I won't bore anyone with writing assignments from years past. However, if you'd like to read a genre analysis about satirical parodies or a trend forecast on the food industry, I'd be more than happy to send those to you.

The following essay was written back in 2017 as part of an application for a prestigious award given by the Kolodzik Business Scholars Program. Applicants were asked to reflect on their time being a member of the program, as well as sharing stories about their overall undergraduate experience. It took me quite some time to gather my thoughts for this response, as I struggled to find the right combination of words. After all, how do you fit in almost your entire college career in a single page? Anyway, below is what I managed to muster up before the deadline.

On a wide workstation lives a collection of related items: fabric swatches of different prints, magazine clips, rough sketches, and working patterns. Mannequins and rolls of inexpensive muslin cloth surround the area and seem to constantly change location, depending on the needs of the studio. The collector, an established designer, glances at her notebook filled with different tasks, eyes widening at the increasing amount of clients and deadlines. With a soft sigh, she tucks a pencil behind her ear, adjusts her glasses, and begins working.

I would occasionally imagine myself as a fashion designer. There had been a time when I dreamed of creating intricate and stylish garments for public figures, while devoting my weekends to traveling the world. From predicting industry trends to grouping finished pieces to form a cohesive collection, I wanted to participate in the entire creative process. However, as the college application season appeared, the intimidation and fear outweighed my childhood dream. I soon traded the image of designing various gowns for the runway with the image of simply harnessing my imagination and bringing innovation visions to life. While I was unsure and indecisive, I realized that the solution did not involve choosing one path over the other, but rather creating a new path unique to own experiences.

I spent time exploring various minors and certificates but could not find a true area of focus, which resulted in a curriculum combining both classes in and outside of the Lindner College of Business. Wanting to learn a plethora of ideas from multiple perspectives, I found myself taking courses surrounding different disciplines in order to satisfy my interests. From Classical Guitar and Intro to Sound Recording to Applied Trends Research, Retailing, and even Physical Geology, these courses have ultimately supplemented my curiosity.

During my sophomore year, I opted to enroll in a service-learning class in order to fulfill an English requirement. The course revolved around the impact of literacy, and through various assignments, I developed a stronger appreciation for arts education. At the time, I was a fundraising research volunteer with the Cincinnati Arts Association, a nonprofit organization that focuses on sharing the importance of preserving performance and visual arts. For those few months, I formed a collection of companies offering grants, sponsorships, and non-monetary donations. While my initial intention included finishing a class requirement, my service experience prompted me to continue to build relationships with nonprofit organizations around the area. In the following semesters, I ended up teaching elementary school students with Junior Achievement, packing canned goods for the Freestore Foodbank, and even helping the Cincinnati Arts Association once again with their silent auction.

The extent of my interests did not solely exist in academics, and throughout the past few years, I wanted to figure out how I could build certain skills into a multidisciplinary career. I came across University of Cincinnati Fashion Association on a whim while visiting different tables at a campus organization fair. There were abundant opportunities to grow the organization including both areas in business and design. I found myself helping develop UCFA's official website and publishing articles about campus life, pop culture, beauty, and fashion. I enjoyed the entire research and writing process, and with encouragement from other members, I ended up becoming one of the contributing writers for an online publication called College Fashion. With a goal of working with technology and creative problem solving, I did not want to limit myself to a particular industry. This led me to explore the roles in journalism, marketing, sourcing, and technology. Although I am unsure of the next step in my professional career, I know that the skills I learn from previous roles can be applied to any new opportunity.

All of the academic, professional, and extra-curricular experiences I have been fortunate to have thus far are all due to the support of the Kolodzik Business Scholars Program. With the help of the program's student association, I had the opportunity to help streamline an annual review process, develop a universal fund request form, plan events alongside fellow students, and even create an online newsletter. A designer may be provided with a certain fabric, but the individual can choose her own silhouettes, appliques, and colored lining. Since the beginning, the Kolodzik Business Scholars Program has allowed me to become my own designer, providing me with the necessary tools for success and giving me the freedom to choose my own path. My future "garments" may include an academic course about classic films, a study abroad program to Vietnam exploring culture and gender diversity, and possibly an out-of-town internship. However, I know that whatever the destination or experience, this honors program will be supportive in any design or endeavor I choose.

Thanks for reading!

Until next time,

n.t.

P.S. I hope everyone is staying safe during these tumultuous times!


bottom of page