top of page

16 thoughts we all have while studying abroad

On the second to last day of being abroad, a friend and I reminisced over our favorite memories from the past few months. She asked me to describe how I've changed since studying in Italy. While it appeared to be a simple question, it required a much more complicated answer. I pondered for a bit while she buttered her toast, glancing at my plate as if the right answer would somehow surface from underneath my Eggs Benedict.

I almost replied with saying that I haven't changed at all, but we both knew that wasn't true. In that moment, I couldn't pinpoint what was different about me. Physically, I pretty much looked the same, since I haven't gotten any taller since the 7th grade. Emotionally, I felt the same as I did when I was leaving the United States back in August. It was that similar combination of feelings - nostalgia, excitement, anticipation, etc. Mentally, I did notice that I gradually became observant of my surroundings and the people around me. I have always been a fan of "people-watching," but this was very much more of "being in the moment" than anything else.

However, in typical Buzzfeed fashion, I decided it was best to illustrate how I've subtly changed by forming a collection of my tweets from this semester. Some of them provide commentary on my experience, some are random, and some do not make any sense at all without additional context.

1. For when you start your journey on a high note.

2. For when you want to be a part of the upper crust.

3. For when things start bugging you.

4. For when all things fall apart.

5. For when you wonder about others' perception of you.

6. For when you get overly excited about your favorite fruit.

7. For when you start missing home.

8. For when you're tired of listening to "influencers."

9. For when things aren't as efficient.

10. For when you get that 15 seconds of fame.

11. [insert reason here]

12. For when you're too blessed to be stressed.

13. For when you're missing home (again).

14. For when you become friends with a local.

15. For when you need an answer to life's bigger questions.

16. And for when you're so close to home yet so far away.

There are plenty of others but not worth mentioning. Don't worry, I won't try to shamelessly promote my Twitter account. Gone are the days of wanting more followers and maintaining that golden ratio. I tweet for one person and one person only - looking at you. Mom.

Until next time,

n.t.


bottom of page