top of page

choose your own adventure - last chapter

If real life was depicted as one of those Choose Your Own Adventure books, I'd never expect to choose to end up in Torino, Italy. On my study abroad application, I mentioned wanting to learn more about the city’s regal Roman and Baroque past, in addition to living in a “cosmopolitan center that embraces both a rich history and modern lifestyle.” To my 14 readers out there, I’ll share that I even added an International Business minor days before the deadline to justify my intentions for studying abroad and ensure that my credits transfer back to my home university. A little sneaky on my part, but it worked.

Life in Torino consisted of me being a pseudo-Italian during the week. My weekly routine starts at the University of Torino’s School of Management with classes that may or may not have anything to do with my major. Some students who have studied abroad before me mentioned that classes abroad are more interesting or even easier than ones back home. They are right for the most part, but I didn’t see my course load as any different from what I’d usually have. I loved two, tolerated three, and absolutely detested one. Just my luck, I suppose.

I’d take small trips to the local grocery store, making sure not to forget my loyalty card so I can rack up points and get discounts. I was “ballin’ on a budget,*” in the wise words of Andy Steves. I’d also stop by the local market on occasion to buy fresh produce, but with my limited Italian, sometimes I’d end up with two kilos (4.4 pounds) of zucchini and potatoes.

I’d have dinner with other students I’ve met along the way. All of us would take turns hosting and try to whip up some concoction. Some highlights included zucchini noodles with avocado pesto, ricotta stuffed shells, and vegetable curry with spooky rice. I also cooked most of my own meals in our modest apartment and bread pizzas were quick and easy to make.

I'd then attempt to explore events and attractions around the historic city of Torino – the key word being “attempted.” Finding traditional Piedmont cuisine, watching a Torino F.C. game, visiting Salone Del Gusto – an international food exhibition, and walking around downtown were definitely favorites. Getting kicked out of the National University Library was not as fun.

On most weekends, I was a world traveler. Another friend and I made a bucket list of places, things, and events around Europe before the semester began. While she wanted to see the Northern Lights from Iceland and the Cliffs of Moher in Ireland, I added that I wanted to go to the MTV Europe Music Awards in Bilbao and the Lavender Fields in Bulgaria. We clearly had different priorities.

Was I able to cross off these items on my bucket list? Well, no. Instead, I toured Auschwitz-Birkenau concentration camp while in Poland, cheered on Juventus F.C. at a sports bar in Belgium, hiked in the mountains of Interlaken, swam in Malta’s island of Comino, and ended up in places around Europe that I hadn’t anticipated on visiting. If you ask me which one of my trips were my favorite this semester, I unfortunately will have to give the diplomatic answer and say that I can’t pick just one.

All of these places had aspects of everyday life that I truly enjoyed, while others I simply appreciated because they reminded me of home.

“Studying abroad makes you more patient,” says every study abroad blog, university, and employer. To a certain extent, they’re right. However, I think it’s more about knowing how to distinguish when it’s right to be patient, and when it’s best to think and move quickly. My trips had its fair share of mishaps and shortcomings – public transportation shutting down, boring tour guides, overpriced “tourist” menus, language barriers, and much more. These past few months enabled me to not only observe how others react to the trials of studying abroad, but also how I approach certain situations. There were times when I got frustrated, but in all honesty, it’s so easy for these negative feelings to surface when things aren’t going as smoothly as you hoped.

All in all, I’m not going to say that everyone has to study abroad. Spending the semester in a different country is an endeavor that not everyone will enjoy, and I think I was one of the lucky ones who didn’t experience extreme homesickness. In all honesty, my reason for participating in this program was to simply explore a different lifestyle. Regardless of what everyone says, study abroad because you want to and for reasons only you need to justify. If you want to only go to an area because you know the language, that’s cool. If you want to spend a semester in Barcelona because you fell in love with the city after watching the second Cheetah Girls movie, then I fully support you.

I’m thankful I had the opportunity to spend these past few months where strangers became friends and an unfamiliar place became another home. It’s been a great semester of trials, triumphs, and everything in between. I couldn't have done it without the loving support of my family and friends, the guidance of USAC Torino, and the help of my home university.

Here’s to more adventures (ones that we choose, of course).

Ciao for now,

n.t.

*I am paraphrasing.


bottom of page