top of page

a place to call our own

It all felt the same before departing my hometown and arriving in Italy. I sat through countless presentations about studying abroad, and at the time, I was more concerned about my packing list than jotting down notes on travel insurance. The meetings were informative, but I was skeptical that a deck of 52 slides could help me combat pick-pocketers, exchange rates, and homesickness. I even told myself that I wouldn’t succumb to the power of the “w-curve,” a predictable pattern of how a person experiences culture shock. But as I’m reaching my eighth week in Torino, I’m starting to wonder if I’m adequately adjusting.

Like other students in my program, I’ve left home once or twice before this specific experience. Then again, my first time consisted of toddler me running away from home in fear of being scolded for spilling juice on the table. I only made it as far as our front yard, but it’s safe to say that my “follow-through” has become a lot better since then. Other times included leaving for summer camp, leaving for shorter service trips and projects, and then leaving to attend a university two hours away from my hometown.

I’m quickly realizing that it’s not a matter of wanting to move back 4,565 miles to where I’m most comfortable. Instead it’s a matter of finding those spaces and moments that remind me a little bit of home. When thinking of this, I’m remembering everything I miss – my family, friends, Target, my mom’s comforting Vietnamese pho, nonstick pans, and consistently warm showers. After all, there are plenty of things we miss when we’re trying to settle in a new environment for a few months.

Then we gradually discover ways to combine familiar settings with new ones. Some days it’s sitting in a local coffee shop where you can grab your favorite cappuccino, and other days it’s running along River Po to see how far you can go before needing to catch your breath. Maybe it’s enjoying a homemade breakfast with friends. Maybe it's watching an American film* in German while visiting Munich because you’ve been longing for an escape.

It's a funny stage to be in right now, where we're feeling stuck between a lifestyle we've always known and another one waiting to be found. I guess that’s really what we’re all missing – a small space for ourselves, a simple place to call our own.

Ciao for now, n.t.

*The American film mentioned in this post is A Star is Born starring Bradley Cooper and Lady Gaga. It is a cinematic masterpiece filled with amazing music. Now playing in theaters near you.


bottom of page