top of page

what's in my bag

Before packing my bags for a semester abroad, I came across Persona, a photography project attempting to capture others’ personalities based on their personal belongings. In this ongoing series, photographer Jason Travis showcases an individual’s unique traits by pairing a portrait with an organized shot of their items.

In a world full of people who focus on outer appearances, it’s important to remember that inner beauty will always prevail. Inspired by his project, I took a peek inside in my own backpack to see what I could find.

the bag From the makers of Timbuk2, the Tuck Pack is a roll-top bag that’s straightforward, simple, and streamlined. It’s a backpack that’s been to more places than I have – Seattle, Philadelphia, Vietnam, Chile, and now Italy. Equipped with weatherproof technology, laptop protection, and a pop of color, it’s a bag that’s always ready for the next adventure. I even successfully convinced two friends to purchase the same bag for their travels!

the water bottle It’s the one most college students have – a Cambelbak Eddy.

the notebook Moleskin, I’m a big fan of your products. From the aspiring writer to the studious notetaker, you’ve provided us with the essential everyday object. This neon yellow one will mostly be a place where I can jot down notes and all of my lists. In the case of love it or list it, I’ll probably list it every time.

the travel pillow During a trip to my local Target store, I impulsively bought this versatile item thinking I’d need it in the future. At first sight, it looks like your typical pillow. But you’ll come to find that it unzips to reveal a blanket, sleeping mask, and ear plugs inside! Talk about a win-win situation. the makeup bag Considering I don’t wear much makeup because I don’t know how to do anything related to cosmetics, this little bag was probably unnecessary.

the toiletry bag It’s a collection of your typical TSA-approved liquids, but I made sure that I didn’t forget my handy St. Ives oatmeal-based facial cleanser. It helps me achieve that natural glow.

the reading materials

For some light reading, I grabbed Understanding the European Union: A Concise Introduction by John McCormick. Kidding! it’s a required textbook for one of my classes. For some entertainment, I’ve been reading Kevin Kwan’s Crazy Rich Asians. Similar to the process of applying shampoo and conditioner, I’ll read the book, watch the movie, and repeat.

the rain jacket

Columbia, thank you for offering a jacket that folds into a small pouch. Even though sometimes I lose it in my bag, I will always appreciate its design.

the umbrella

I don’t think this is actually mine, but it somehow came into my possession. If you happen to be missing a black umbrella with a wooden handle, hopefully it’s okay that I’m borrowing it. You’ll get it back in a few months.

the “electronics” bag From adapters and converters to chargers and earbuds, this pouch includes everything that keeps me “plugged in.” If I lose this bag, all hope is lost.

the extras Research tells us that chewing gum helps your ears pop. I’ve opted for a sweet minty flavor.

the eyewear Between these two, one helps me see more clearly while the other protects my eyes from the sun and makes me cooler than I am.

the writing utensils Over the years, I’ve formed a collection that best suits my taste. Felt pens and simple mechanical pencils make the world go ‘round. Well, maybe not. I just like how they write.

the documents I’ve perfected organizing all of my important documents – flight itineraries, orientation information, passport photos, and visa papers. It’s simply stuffing them into a folder the morning of my first flight.

the laptop Contrary to popular belief, my whole life is actually not on this thing. It does help me get the job done, though. Whatever that may be.

Our bags can only take us so far, so it’s what on the inside that counts. What’s in your bag?

Ciao for now, n.t.


bottom of page